Philip Booth Poetry Prize

Congratulations to John Sibley Williams for winning the 2015 Philip Booth Poetry Prize with "Skin Memory," published in Salt Hill Issue 36.

The 2016 Philip Booth Poetry Prize will be open from June 15 to November 15, 2016; Nate Pritts will be the judge. See the contest page for guidelines and information.


Dead Lake Chapbook Contest

We're pleased to announce the winning manuscript of the 2015 Dead Lake Chapbook Contest, judged by Sarah C. Harwell: J.L. Conrad's NOT IF BUT WHEN, which is now available for purchase. This was an outstanding year for the contest, and we thank everyone who submitted their work. Our 2016 contest is now closed; the winner will be announced and published in the winter of 2017. Please check back in January 2017 for next year's contest.


Italo Calvino Prize in Fabulist Fiction 

Congratulations to Micah Dean Hicks for 2014's winning story, "Flight of the Crow Boys," published in Salt Hill Issue 35. The 2015 winner, "Glass City" by Nick Greer, will be published in Salt Hill Issue 37.

Salt Hill Journal partners with the University of Louisville for the Italo Calvino Prize in Fabulist Fiction. A prize of $1,500, publication in Salt Hill Journal, and an all-expenses-paid trip to read at the University of Louisville's annual 20th Century Literature Conference is given annually for a work of fabulist fiction written in the vein of Italo Calvino. Second prize is $300. Submit up to 25 pages of a short story, novel, or novella with a $25 entry fee. Visit the Web site for complete guidelines and deadlines.